Part 26: 3 Steps to Zen Focus

A-A-Ron
2 min readJan 29, 2019

1. Declutter your desk

I am taking myself up on this challenge to have a clean workspace for thoughtful writing and work. I am realizing the less I have to distract from the tough work the better I become at diving into the tough work. Less is more!

2. Make a plan before bed

I write on a Post-It note or notecard and list 1–3 things that I want to get done the next day. I have also started using an app called Fabolous to help me create daily habits of drinking water and reading 20 minutes in the morning and night.

3. Allow your phone battery to die

The other night my daughter used my phone to watch her YouTube shows and my battery died. Typically I would instantly go to the charger to make sure I was connected online as soon as possible. This time I tried something different. I let it stay dead. I forced myself to be offline. It was hard. I found myself constantly trying to grab my phone every time I moved in my seat, stood up to let the dog out, head to bathroom, get a snack, etc. I was more present in my actions and realized how much I was distracting myself. I finally settled in to read and I was amazed by how much more in tune I was with the content. I hope to do more of this.

  • Option 1: Leave the phone in another room where I cannot access or hear it.
  • Option 2: Turn it off or let it die. Actually be offline for a duration of time to get work done.

Yes, we can live without it in our pocket and attached to us all the time. And the world does not fall apart.

--

--

A-A-Ron

A non-expert of many things trying to deconstruct and rebuild what life, teaching, and learning all means for mankind moving forward.